This post is actually one I submitted to youmoz and it got REJECTED…Not that I’m bitter about it but F*** you Moz.
I’m actuallyÂ going to talk about a relatively touchy subject in the SEO community which is “closing SEO clients.”
Why is it touchy?
Because being good at SEO is not the only thing you need in order toÂ run a successful SEOÂ business.
You have to be able to close clients!
NoÂ clientsÂ noÂ money.
NoÂ moneyÂ noÂ business.
You get the picture.
But itâs a touchy subject because generally, (being brought up in the seo/internet marketing world) we are not very good at talking clients into sales, itâs not something most of us learn from trial and error as we simply never do it. Whereas telemarketers, salesmen etc do this on a daily basis. And also there is no moz blog post we can read to learn about closing potential seo clients!!!!â¦.Â Until now ;).
Okay enough of that, now to the guide.
I will not be explaining how you canÂ generate potential SEO clients, as that has already been done on my blog:Â 8 great ways to generate SEO clientsÂ and on the moz blog itself, by the lovelyÂ Ms Lord in 10 ways to generate more seo clients.Â
If you havenât read these articles, I highly recommend you do so before reading this post, as it will be a good pre-guide to this article.
Okay enough introduction letâs get to the steps!
Step 1 – Neutralise the mind
Neutralise the mind â This is a term coined by the late greatÂ Napoleon Hill.
If you donât know, Hill is the writer of a very famous popular book called think and grow rich, which in my opinion is his second best book.
The Law of Success is a much more powerful book and without it, I probably wouldnât be writing this today. But thatâs a story for another time.
His theory is essentially â You cannot sell to an individual who is in a negative mind-set about you.
Whereas if they are neutral, you can convince them that what you are offering will help them (as it will)
To neutralise a potential clients mind, you are looking to remove the fear element. When you contact a business owner, or if they contact you, they are sceptical about whether your services work or not. You need to remove this scepticism and neutralise their mind.
You can do this in a number of ways, for example offering a free trial (not recommended) or by simply explaining your services in such a way that they are willing to take that small risk with you (highly recommended.)
Step 2 âExplain why you are contacting them
By this stage you should have the attention of the potential client and more importantly they have made time to listen to you (they are not just waiting for you to finish pitching and waiting to hang up.)
This is where you are going to explain what you are doing and why you are contacting THEM specifically.
This is the stage where you either organise a phone interview as your âgoalâ or if you are already on the phone you are looking to hear the golden âgo onâ phrase.
Do not even mention money, prices or even specific services yet.
The following is what you are to do in this stage:
- 1.Connect on a personal levelÂ â Get some more information about their business and the individual you are talking to (without saying phrases like âhow are you doing today sir) Iâm not a Sirâ¦..Not yet.
- 2.Explain why your callingÂ â But keep it broad, your explaining how you can help the business but not specifically what you are going to do, that comes later!
- 3.Feel free to include case studies / previous workÂ â But again do not explain the specifics of any job.
Never try to close a client without speaking to them on the phone (but donât cold call, check out my direct mail calling campaignÂ (number 5)Â to get an idea of what I’m talkingÂ about.)
This step is commonly referred to as theÂ PRE-SELL
But I hate that term so we are sticking with step 2.
Step 3 â SEO MATHS
Easily my favourite way to talk to and close clients.
Seo maths is all about explaining how you can add value to their business.
Whatever language you speak, whatever industry you work in, whatever country you live in, what is it that all business owners want more of?
(If you didn’t guess that then this probably isn’t the rightÂ planetÂ for you.)
Now I’m going to explain how I use the SEO maths technique to close a client. Remember to try and keep this as numbers based as possible and not to use many technical term that the person youâre talking to might not understand.
A good way to explain it, is try to explain this to your gran/nan (old person). If you can sell to your granddad you know youâre on to a winner!
The example I use to explain SEO maths is selling to a local restaurant, I know the restaurant niche is not the best to use for explaining SEO, as people might go to tripadvisor or those types of website but the search figures are all real examples, donât believe me? I live in Cardiff UK)
Explain what keywords you would recommend targeting â âlocal area restaurantâ ârestaurant local areaâ
- Tell them the search data â These 2 terms get exactly 9000 searches in google per month. (I know its lower than that butÂ I’mÂ beingÂ conservativeÂ âI got this data from google this morning so its 100% up to dateâ
- Currently the website ranked 1stÂ in the organic listings (which is whatever it is) âthatâs the ones thatÂ aren’tÂ paid adsâ getsÂ around 35-40% of the clicks from these 9000 visitors. Which means they currently get between 3150-3600 visitors to their site per month. âIf we take 3,200 as aÂ conservativeÂ figure to use for our calculations.
- Next we have to calculate what our conversion rate would be. âThe conversion rate in this case would be the number of people who visit your website and then go on to book a table or visit your restaurant. This depends on the type of restaurant you have, what the individual is looking for and a number of different things but in the restaurant industry itâs usually between 2-10%. If we take 3% as aÂ conservativeÂ estimate, this will give us (3% of 3,200 = 96 customers)â
Side note:Â you can use a discount code to track who comes via the websiteâ¦.
Never stop there.
- 5.If you could tell me the average per head someone spends in your restaurant (they will usually give you a number between 15-50, depending on whatever it isâ¦) Okay so if we take Â£20 for example. Thatâs 20 x 96 = Â£1,920 extra per month
Never EVER EVER stop here
- 6.âBut thatâs only if one person comes! âItâs highly unlikely someone has gone to all this trouble to just come on their own!â Whatâs more likely is that itâs a couple or a family or even a party! But if we take a conservative estimate of 2.5 people per enquiry? Does that sound about right?ââ¦..
- 7.So 2.5 x 1920 = Â£4800
As you can see if you were ranking 1stÂ for this term you would be generating an extra 240 customers a month and generate an additional Â£4,800 every month in revenue!
And thatâs just using conservative figures!
Thatâs at least an extra Â£57,600 per year.
Now thatâs a lot of money to anyone!
From here go into whatever you are offering: the service we are currently offering for restaurant promotion is a Â£500 per month SEO package, thatâs a potential 1000% ROI.
Shall I sign you up?
Now if you did this right, the response should be as follows:
I could go into a step 4/5 but if you havenât already sold to the prospect itâs unlikely that offering anything else will close them, if a 1000% ROI offer didnât.
Just remember to use figures and not technical language and donât let your inner SEO take over.
Hope you found this article interesting.
Feel free to ask any questions below.
Thanks for reading.