I just finished reading Neil Patel’s most recent update on his new venture onÂ Nutrition. He’s up to $22,000 in earnings (not profit) within 9 months! All well and good, but your Neil Patel, you have contacts and you have the funds to invest in a new venture. But his idea got me to thinking again about how I’ve been looking to start a big project in Bing. Ranking some pretty beefy keywords, that you’d not really everÂ consider ranking in Google.
My current Bing SEO test is still ongoing with some relative success, ranking on page 1 for “seo company” within 3 months. Again this nudged my entrepreneurial mind to start something a bit bigger with Bing.
As everyone knows Bing is a lot easier to rank in than Google, it’s like the outdatedÂ Google and with a 10% market share, people generally ignore Bing. BUT this makes it less competitive in the SEO world and hence more opportunities are open. Better to have 10% of something than 90% of nothing!
Thus was born my Bing SEO Case Study. If you’re like me then you like to add both time and monetary aims to new projects. So I decided to do with:
6 Months to Â£2,000 a month with Bing.
To expand on this a little. I choose the Â£2,000 because this means I could flip the site for Â£20-Â£30k at a later date if I needed and 6 months because, well if it doesn’t rank in 6 months with Bing its just not going to rank anyway. Also to clarify this would be Â£2,000 per month profit, although costs would be low I can see sape costing Â£200 / month by the end of this project…. Although 1 time costs such as the domain name, press release ect are not going to be included in the running monthly total.
Funny/Depressing fact:Â Â£2k a month would be twice as much I was on at exactly this time last year! Ahhh The joys of being an intern!
As with most things SEO, I started with keyword research.Â
Step 1: Keyword Research
I already had a niche in my head, one that I’d start withÂ affiliate marketing and may even go into a physical product business if I thought the market was there at a later date. I’m not going to reveal the keywords or the site throughout this process as I want to keep everything 100% safe, although in the later updates I will be updating the rankings.
The primary keyword in Google had a mind boggling 800,000+ monthly searches! That was the worldwide figure, and frankly would probably cost millions to rank #1. The UK specific data was still over 50,000!
Moving to Bing’s keyword tool. As Bing had approx a 10% market share I thought I’d see figures of around 80,000 and 5,000. I was wrong. The worldwide figure was just over 20,000 and the UK specific searches were even worse coming in at only 600.
This made 2 things extremely clear. The first was there was absolutely no point only targeting a specific country with this market, I had to go global, more specifically concentrate on the US and secondly ranking on page 1 probably wasn’t even going to be enough, it would have to be top 3 if I wanted to reach my goal of Â£2k a month.
One aspect that’s currently in the back of my mind, although I haven’t really thought about it too much yet, is the fact I will probably need another set of keywords to reach the goal, which affected my decision for the next step.
Step 2: Domain, Hosting & Set-up.
It’s bing so we are looking for at-least a partial match domain name and this is what I went with. I also decided to go with something semi-brandable, so if I wanted to flip the site at a later date, it would be relatively easy to do without having any name or exact match keyword ties.
Hosting, nothing special just stuck it on a bluehostÂ account I already had. Set-up again what you would expect from a lazy SEO, which is just WordPress. Then from there again it was your basic plugins; yoast, security and some things to make everything function a bit quicker and easier. I’m just emphasising here that it was nothing special!
Step 3: On-page.
Due to the range of keywords I decided the homepage should takeÂ the broadest keyword possible, in this case its a 1-word keyword. Along with a few 2 word highly searched variations. This would let us hit the brand name whilst still getting the value for an exact match, due to the domain I selected.
Again as this is bing we don’t really have to worry about over optimisation to much. We want out primary keywords as much as possible and a lot of LSI keywords as you’d expect. General on-page optimsiation practices here. Images, lots of text, properly structured articles and a couple of authority links out will do it.
For the content itself I decided to start with 4 primaryÂ pages. So the homepage + 3 ranking pages. I also included a contact, about, privacy and terms page just to beef up the site a bit and add some trust.
Step 4: Design, Theme and Offers
If you’ve seen any of my personal website you know I like simple design. Make it clear and concise. And its also easier for me so its a win win win. The theme and offer integration was going to be a bit more difficult. I used a variety of offers but they were all super related to the content and keywords I was trying to rank for, with the commissions ranging from 5-20%.
Although I don’t like to judge conversion rates and EPC values that advertisers use, according to these if I could send about 2000 clicks a month through to these guys, I’d hit my Â£2,000 a month goal. That’s 2000 x 20% = 1000 conversions a month. With an average sales volume of $50 = $25,000. With my % being approximately 10-15%. = $2500 – $3750. Translating this to real money = Â£1700-Â£2500. So 2000 clicks a month was the goal, this was assuming the 20% conversion figure held, which seemed a bit high to me….
Diving further into the SEO maths meant I needed about 65-70 clicks a day to reach my goal. Taking a 25% CTR from my site lead to a figure of 280. Let’s call it 300 Visitors a day, 9000 monthly visitors to hit the goal. Sounds good!Â
Step 5: Social Foundations & Press Release
Although this wasn’t going to be a white-hat site by any stretch, I wasn’t going to throw it away by buying 100 sape links as soon as the site went live. I decided to pick up some social signals, build the usual twitter, G+ and Facebook pages and also pick up a press release. All of which just (in my opinion) helps give the site a “launch” style to it and build some trust.
Step 6: Niche relevant comments
This was a easyÂ one. Just needed to get some branded and niche relevant signals going. Picked up a package of relevant blog comments, 100% manual, 100% clean too, easy. This was to get the needed industry relevance which wasn’t going to be coming from the sape or press release.
Step 7: Sape Links
Sape is going to be the power behind the site, the relevance is going to come from the comments and the next step withÂ the trust from the social signals and press release. Sape links work extra well with bing but I will be keeping them as clean as possible, especially in the early days, just to see if Google wants to come along for the ride too, if I get hit by Google early then I will be more aggressive with the linking strategy itself, if not then I’ll probably air on the side of caution with the sape links, less exact match, lower quantities ect.
Step 8: High Quality Relevant Contextual links
Although its bing I’m still going to throw in some high quality contextual links. And heck if the sape hasn’t killed it the site might also rank in Google too! Depending on how much time I have on my hands when this step comes along will depend if I just go and buy a few links myself or write a couple of guest posts. This step is going to be the most expensive, as I’ll be looking for 3-5 really good, contextual and relevant links!
Step 9: Re-evaluate
After almost 2 months I’m going to re-evaluate the site, check rankings, check to see if any affiliate commission has been made and write the plan for another 2 months. I’d like to think that by 1st March 2016 the site would be in the top 20 for all the pre-selected keywords, even the big ones, but only time will tell. Also between now and then I know I’ll be adding “money pages” to the site with new keywords to target as well.
Next update will be on the 1st March 2016.
1st March 2016
It’s now the 1st March and I thought I’d post an update about the progress of the site. Current earnings are 0, but affiliate clicks have started to come through in the pastÂ couple of weeks. Traffic is also around 5 visitors a day. The main metrics I’ll be looking at are bing/yahoo rankings. Currently the site sits on page 2 for 2 of the primary keywords. There’s not really that much to report yet, rankings are coming along okay, bit slower than I would have liked but they should pick up over the next few weeks. I’ll be posting a new update on 1st April.
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